What is the seat belt law in Chesterfield VA

What are the child restraint and seat belt laws in Chesterfield VA?

As per the Chesterfield Virginia state law 46.2-1094, the passengers in the vehicle who are above the age of 16 years are supposed to wear a seatbelt.

Understanding Seat belt laws:

As per the NYS Vehicle & Traffic Law Section 1229-c (1):

“No person shall operate a motor vehicle in this state unless: (a) all back seat passengers of such vehicle under the age of four are restrained in a specially designed seat which meets the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards set forth in 49 C.F.R. 571.213 and which is either permanently affixed or is affixed to such vehicle by a safety belt, or in the event that the weight of such passenger under the age of four exceeds forty pounds, such passenger may be restrained (i) in an appropriate child restraint system as defined in subdivision four of this section used with combination lap safety and shoulder harness belts or (ii) by a lap safety belt in the event such vehicle is not equipped with combination lap safety and shoulder harness belts or all the combination lap safety and shoulder harness belts are being used to properly restrain other passengers who are under the age of sixteen;

(b) all back seat passengers of such vehicle who are age four or older but under age eight (i) are restrained in an appropriate child restraint system as defined in subdivision four of this section used with combination lap and shoulder harness belts or (ii) are restrained in a lap safety belt in the event such vehicle is not equipped with combination lap safety and shoulder harness belts or all the combination lap safety and shoulder harness belts are being used to properly restrain other passengers who are under the age of sixteen; or

(c) In the case of any other back seat passenger under the age of sixteen, he or she is restrained by a safety belt approved by the commissioner.”

Seat belt laws Chesterfield VA

As the department of motor vehicle Virginia explains it as:

“Among rear seat occupants, seat belt use can reduce the risk of death by 60%. Additionally, multiple studies show the increased risk of death for those wearing seat belts when people in the back seat are not. One study by the Centers for Disease Control showed that the odds of driver death more than doubled in fatal frontal crashes when there were unrestrained rear-seat passengers.”

What are the penalties for not wearing a seatbelt in Chesterfield VA?

For the car seat law, the penalty is

  1. $50

Whereas for the seatbelt law, the penalty is

  1. $25

Children who are 16 years of age or older are responsible for taking care of themselves whereas it is the responsibility of the driver to take care of anyone who is under the age of 16.

Under Virginia Law, you cannot be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. Although, if you are pulled over for violating any other traffic law, let’s say for not stopping at a red light, you will also be charged for not wearing a seatbelt as an additional violation.